Action, Fiction, Review, Young Adult

Conspiracy 365: February

Conspiracy 365: February by Gabrielle Lord

I didn’t actively go out and search for this book so that I could continue with the series. My little sister got her first tattoo a few weeks back and while my mom and I were waiting for her to be done, we wandered around the used book store across the street and lo and behold! Conspiracy 365: February was right there waiting for me. They also had May, but I didn’t want to get too far ahead of myself.

This book picks up right where January left off. It seems as if not as many things really happen to Cal through the month of February, but that isn’t to say he has an uneventful 28 days. Here’s where you back out if you don’t want anything spoiled.

He finds out what the Ormond Angel is and he and Boges work to figure out the drawing of the sphinx, and think they have some clues. Cal tries to set up another meeting with Jennifer Smith at the zoo, since their first one was prevented by Cal getting kidnapped. Cal meets a girl, but he’s not sure he can trust her. Uncle Rafe might not be as bad a guy as Cal once thought he was. Gabbi is still in the hospital. Cal can’t believe his eyes when he spies a new kid hanging around a basketball court. And again we are left with a cliffhanger at the end of the book. (Though since there are ten more books, we can assume that Cal at least survives, but that doesn’t mean the cliffhanger ends favorably.)

Some of the events that don’t tie in with the main plot include Cal getting confronted by some sewer dwellers during a rain storm, where he was forced to hide out after some squatters took up residence in the broken down house he’d been staying in one day while he’d been out, and eaten all of his food. Boges also sets up a blog for Cal, hoping that it might gain him some sympathy from the public and convince them that he’s innocent of the crime that the police and his family believe he’s committed.

I am really curious to see what happens next, and what the deal is with the Ormond Singularity and the Ormond Riddle and how that will make everything better for Cal and his family, or at least why everyone seems to be after it. I’m not sure if it’s enough for me to go out of my way to find the next book in the series, or if I’ll just hope to stumble along March in another used book store.

Overall, I’d give it an 8/10. I don’t think it was quite as good as the first book, but still entertaining and a good read.

Read on!

Molly

Leave a comment